Congress President’s Welcome

Dear Colleagues and Friends,

The International Forum for the Study of ITCH (IFSI) will hold its 10th World Congress on Itch in Sydney, Australia. On behalf of the Organising Committee I would like to welcome all delegates. We look forward to delegates participating in and contributing to this Congress on all aspects of the experience, pathogenesis and management of itch from basic to applied sciences.

We are delighted to be hosting this Congress. This is the first time the Congress has been held in the Southern Hemisphere. Sydney is a modern city with an ancient past. The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples have inhabited this land for at least 60,000 years. Commencing as an English penal colony in 1788, Sydney has developed into a dynamic, multicultural and vibrant city. We encourage visitors to Australia to spend some time outside the Congress to enjoy and explore the city of Sydney and the country of Australia. The location of the Congress will be in Darling Harbour. Arguably one of the great harbours of the world, Sydney Harbour features the Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Sydney Opera House. Other highlights of the city include the New South Wales Art Gallery with its rich combination of indigenous and colonial Australian art, the Blue Mountains, the beautiful beaches and national parks. Delegates may consider travelling to central Australia and visiting Uluru (Ayer’s Rock) and Queensland to see the Great Barrier Reef, two of the great natural wonders of the world.

Our objective is to hold an international multi-disciplinary meeting on all aspects of itch. The meeting shall focus on advances in both the neuroscience of pruritus and clinical practice spanning multiple disciplines, including Dermatology, Palliative Care, Immunology, Hepatology, burns medicine, Neurology, psychosomatics and Psychiatry. We hope that the academic program and social events organised for the Congress will be of interest and an inspiration to all delegates.

Sydney is honoured to welcome you in November 2019.

On behalf of the Organising Committee.

Dr Frank Brennan

Congress President

Professor Dedee Murrell

Secretary General